My Ground Beef Weekend

October 16, 2011 § Leave a comment

Tina wanted grilled burgers on Saturday so I asked Ryan at Hummer’s Meat to grind me 5 pounds of meat made  up of equal portions of chuck and sirloin with about 15% fat. This grind is from Alton Brown and it really does make a difference.

I decided to make stuffed peppers with some of the pepper from the garden, burgers and meatballs.  I made the stuffed peppers in the crockpot using
Ness’s Stuffed Green Peppers. This turned out to be good base but needs work. It was really kind of bland.

The burgers, on the grill with red onion and Munster cheese, served with lettuce and avocado and spicy mayo made the mayo and harissa paste. This is good any time. I also did bake potato and sweet potato fries.

The meatball recipe is below.  I now have a whole bag of meatballs in the freezer for spaghetti and meatballs or meatball subs.

This recipe only has the Italian Meatball recipe.  I will add others as I figure them out.  If you decide to make them, please let me know how they turn out and other combinations you use.

Thanks

Calvin

 

-= Exported from BigOven =-

Meatballs

Recipe By: Calvin D
Serving Size: 6 Dozen
Cuisine: American
Main Ingredient: Beef
Categories: Bake, Main Dish, Hors dOeuvres

-= Ingredients =-
3 pound Ground Beef ; See Notes
5 ounces Fresh bread crumbs
1 cup Milk ; as required
~~ — Italian Meatballs — ~~
4 ounces Parmesan cheese ; freshly grated
1 tablespoon Granulated Garlic
1 1/2 tablespoon Granulated Onion
1 1/2 tablespoon Oregano
1 teaspoon Salt
1 tablespoon Pepper

-= Instructions =-
I normally mix the herbs and spiced with the cheese and then mix them with the breadcrumbs.  This allows me to mix everything together without over-mixing and compressing the ground beef. After this mixture is combined I add the milk as need. This is a trick that is hard to explain.  I add the milk by 1/4 cup increments mixing after each addition until the mix has a smooth consistency.
You can then portion them out and cook them. I used a #30 disher, a shade more than two tablespoons, which makes meatballs about  1″ in diameter. I bake them in a 375° oven but they can be pan fried also.  I bake them on a rack to keep them off the pan for about 15 minutes, turing halfway through.
I will add other combinations of herbs and spices as I figure them out.

Notes:  Hamburger – I a lucky enouth to have a butcher that will grind meat to my specification. I use a grind of 1/2 chuck and 1/2 sirloin with about 15% fat added. This basic mix is from Alton Brown. It works well for anything that requires ground beef.

** This recipe can be pasted into BigOven without retyping.     **
** Easy recipe software.  Try it free at: http://www.bigoven.com    **

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Ground Beef Weekend at Calvin Deiterich.

meta

