Beef Shank

November 25, 2011 § Leave a comment

I went to market on Friday, 11/19,  to check on my order for Thanksgiving and found that Ryan had some really nice beef shank.  About 2 inches thick and weighing about 1 1/2 pounds each.  I picked up two of them for some beef in gravy over mashers. I started them on Saturday since they do take a while to cook and really do taste better the second day.

I cut the membrane that goes around them since it shrinks while cooking and squeezes the meat too much, then browned them in a skillet.  I put 2 cups each of diced celery, carrots and onions in the bottom of the crock pot and put the browned shanks on top.  Then I added two sprigs of rosemary, some snipped parsley, a couple of bay leaves and about a dozen whole pepper corns along with one cup of beef stock and cooked it on low for about 8 hours until tender.

I removed the shanks to cool. Then strained the juice so I could put it in the refrigerator so the grease would harden on top. Once the shanks were cool enough to handle, I picked over the meat to remove the fat and cartilage and made sure the pieces were all about the same size, then put them in the refrigerator until Sunday.

Sunday I took the grease off the top of the gravy, put it in a pan and brought it to a simmer.  I them added the beef to heat everything together.  I did thicken it a little with some cornstarch and water.

I made, or I guess I should say tried to make, some buttermilk mashed potatoes. I baked the potatoes and then riced them. Then added some hot buttermilk in which I have melted some butter.  They turned out grainy and a tad runny.  Not my best effort.
At least the beef was good.

Now on to Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Beef Shank at Calvin Deiterich.

meta

