Thanksgiving Turducken Roll

November 25, 2011 § Leave a comment

I decided it was about time I tried my hand at a Turducken Roll.  A whole Turducken was just of the question since that would feed about 20 which was a tad overkill.

I ordered my turkey, duck and chicken from Ryan at Hummer’s meats and picked them up on Wednesday.  When I got home I butchered them since I only need the breasts of the birds for the roll.  The other pasts I froze or used them for stock with I put on the stove also to get that out of the way als. o.

Thursday morning I made my two stuffing’s.  I needed both regular bread and cornbread stuffing. Then it came time to pound out, roll and stuff the roll which turned into a rather trying endeavor. I put them turkey breast down, covered it with the regular bread stuffing, then the duck breast went down covered with cornbread stuffing and finally the chicken breast and some more bread stuffing.  I tried to roll it like that but had no luck.  I finally put the whole thing on some parchment paper and rolled it in that, folded it over and tied the ends.  I then tied it at a couple places just to hold the whole thing together.

I roasted it in a 350 degree oven  for about an hour and a half to an internal temperature of 165.

While it was resting I make some pan gravyserved it with mashed potatoes and green bean casserole. It was a lot of work and I’m not sure I would make it again.  The duck turnout a little dry and it was a lot of work.

Well, at least I can say I tried it.

Here are some of the recipes I used:

Cornbread – http://www.gourmet.com/recipes/gourmetlive/2011/111611/chorizo-corn-bread-stuffing

Cornbread stuffing  – http://www.cookinglouisiana.com/Cooking/Recipes/Meat/cornbread-dressing%20-%20JJG.htm

I did not add the chicken but used one link of andouille sausage.

The bread stuffing was from – Bread stuffing –  http://angelaharris.hubpages.com/hub/Thanksgiving-Recipes-Turkey-Stuffing-Recipe

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Thanksgiving Turducken Roll at Calvin Deiterich.

meta

