Pork Belly & Sauerkraut with Potatoes

December 5, 2011 § Leave a comment

I decided to try my hand at braising a 2 pound piece of pork belly I had in the freezer.  After searching the internet and coming up with numerous recipe for oriental recipes I decided to search for pork belly and sauerkraut and found this recipe for Braised Pork Belly w/Sauerkraut & Potatoes. The pork belly I had was only two pounds and the skin had already been removed.  I halved the rub mixture, pack it around the belly and put it in the refrigerator overnight.  I followed the recipes with the exception of using 2 pounds of sauerkraut and, after the browning and assembling it, I brought it to a boil and then put it in a 300 degree oven for about 3 hours. Nothing burnt and the sauerkraut ended up with a nice brown hue.

I did not put the potatoes since I didn’t want everything to taste the same. I rendered some bacon in a cast-iron skillet, sliced the potatoes about 3/8-inch thick and fried them in the bacon fat until they were lightly browned.  Then layered them in a casserole with some sliced onion and the reserved bacon bits.  I then added about 1 cup of chicken stock, covered it with foil and baked it for the last hour the pork was cooking.

All in all, it turned out to be a really good meat.  But, as it says in the recipes it’s  “Not recommended for the cardiac-challenged!” Once in  a while, why not!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pork Belly & Sauerkraut with Potatoes at Calvin Deiterich.

meta

