Cured Pork Loin

September 12, 2012 § 1 Comment

I guess I need to get back to my blogging. I was watching an episode of Diners, Drive-ins and Dive titled 13 Gypsies. The chef of there was curing a small pork loin as a kind of Tasso. I figured this might be tasty so I decided to try it.
My first obstacle was acquiring a small pork loin that had a nice fat cap. This proved harder than I thought. I checked with Ryan at Hummers only to find out that all his meat comes trimmed with almost no fat. Instead of taking much more time trying to find one for initial trail on this.
I purchased a 2 pound piece of pork and headed home.
The first step was to rinse off the meat, dry it well and them cover it with a mixture of one part sugar and two parts salt. After pressing a nice lay of this mixture onto the pork, I placed it in a ziplock bag, put it in a plastic tray and into the bottom drawer of the refrigerator. Thus ended Friday night.
On Saturday evening I drained the liquid off the pork, added a little more salt & sugar mixture and put it back in the frig.
Sunday evening I rinsed the pork off, patted it dry and then packed it with a mixture of:
1 cup sugar
2 tablespoons paprika
1 tablespoon granulated garlic
1 tablespoon granulated onion
1 teaspoon cayenne
1/2 teaspoon allspice
mixed together.

After the pork was packed will with the seasoning I sealed it in a vacuum bag, placed it back in the plastic container and put it back in the refrigerator. For the next three nights I took the meat out, rubbed it a bit to distribute the seasoning and back in the refrigerator it went.
After three days I removed the pork from the seasoning bag, wiped it off an wrapped it in paper-lined foil until the weekend.
I slice some fairly thin and tried frying it. Not the best option as it turned out rather tough. I sliced more about 3/8-inch thick and tried frying that. This was a little better but not much. I am going to try and use some for seasoning and see how that works.
I believe one problem is that lack of fat on the pork. This may be better with a pork belly or finding a pork loin with more fat.
The seasoning, after it has tempered for about a week is much better than right after it was removed from the seasoning. This is a good start but needs work.
I will update this post as I make adjustments.

§ One Response to Cured Pork Loin

  • Bill says:

    Buy whole loin trim the bottom yourself so you get the fat also its a 5 day cure 2 days with salt and sugar then 3 days with the spice dump water off every day of cure use rest of loin for chops

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cured Pork Loin at Calvin Deiterich.

meta

