Making Tomato Sauce

September 14, 2012 § Leave a comment

With my garden I was only harvesting a small number of tomatoes at any one time so I decided to find a way to make small batches of sauce. I did some research on the web and came across a recipe from Alton Brown on a roasted tomato sauce. You can view his recipe at Alton’s Roasted Tomato Sauce.
I tried his recipe and found that the onions and garlic proceeded to burn. His recipe also calls for wine, which neither my wife or I like in cooking. It was, however, a good start. Now comes the fun part, taking this recipe and making it my own.
Since I do not grow any plum tomatoes I start out with a mixture of red and yellow tomatoes. I just gather them up until I have two half-sheet pans worth and started from there. I lined the half-sheet pans with heavy-duty aluminum foil sprayed with cooking spray, halved the tomatoes and cut those halves in quarters. I removed the seeds and placed them on the prepared pans. I then sliced some onions, garlic and peppers, added them to the mix, sprinkled the whole thing with salt and pepper, drizzled them with olive oil and into the oven they went. I did have to oven preheated to 325 degrees. I roasted them for 1 hour, stirred them around and back in for another hour. I then increased the heat to 400 degrees and finished them off for another 1/2 hour. This last half-hour you may have to alter depending on the moisture content of the tomatoes.
I removed them from the oven, let them cool slightly and then ran them through the food-mill or strainer.
The roasting eliminates the need to cook them down on the stove and keep watching so they do not burn.
As to the peppers, you can use any type here. If you like spicy, add jalapeños or some other hot variety. You can also add other vegetables that would become soft such as eggplant or squash.
You can adjust the quantities to your liking.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Making Tomato Sauce at Calvin Deiterich.

meta

