Quince Paste

October 6, 2012 § Leave a comment

I decided to pick my quince today. I have seen recipes for Quince Paste so I thought I would give that a try. It seems to be served with cheese. Probably other uses, I will post some when I find them.
Anyway, I ended up with about 8 pounds. I peeled, cored and cut into pieces. You cover them with water and cook until they are soft. Then then drain and run through a food mill or my Kitchenaid strainer on my mixer.
Sunday I started on phase two. I mixed the 9 cups of strained quince with an equal amount of sugar and started cooking it over very low heat. After about 7 hours it had not turned the reddish-orange that the recipe said but I figured enough is enough. I lined an 11 x 15 baking dish with buttered parchment paper and put the paste in it. I have it in a warn oven now to dry it out.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Quince Paste at Calvin Deiterich.

meta

