Corned Beef

February 25, 2014 § Leave a comment

I started making my Corned Beef for this coming Sunday.
I made the brine following the recipe from “Charcuterie” by Ruhlman & Polcyn.

Ingredients
1 gallon Water
2 cups Kosher Salt
1/2 cup Sugar
5 teaspoons Pink Salt
3 cloves Garlic, minced
2 tablespoons Pickling Spice

5 pound Beef Brisket

Directions
Mix all the ingredients together and bring to a boil. Let cool to room temperature and then refrigerate until cold.

I made the brine on Sunday evening and let it sit in the pot until Monday morning. I then put it is the refrigerator until Monday evening.

Monday
At that time I put the brisket into a plastic container, pored the brine over it, placed two glass bowls on top of the brisket to hold it down and then put the lid on. This went into the refrigerator for 5 days, turning the brisket every day.

I will update the recipe as the recipe progresses.

Sunday
Well, it’s time to cook the corned beef. I have turned the brisket every day just to make sure it was evenly brined.
I took the corned beef out on Sunday morning, rinsed it and placed it in a large pot. At this point I added some carrots, onions, celery and garlic along with some peppercorns. Covered the whole business with cold water and brought it to a boil. Then reduced it to a simmer and cooked for about 3 hours. At this point, I removed the beef and then removed the cooked vegetables as they have given up their all for the dish. I returned the beef to the broth, added some whole peeled small onions along with some celery. Then, in about 1/2 hour, I added the potatoes and about 15 minutes later the cabbage. Everything cooked in about 4 hours total although the cabbage was a bit overdone.
All in all, a good meal. I did find, brining the beef in the liquid in lieu of rubbed in a sealed bag makes it easier to control the level of salt and cuts down on the cooking time.
Another lesson learned.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Corned Beef at Calvin Deiterich.

meta

