Thanksgiving – 2105

November 25, 2015 § Leave a comment

Countdown – Day 2 – Tuesday

Picked up the turkey this morning, a 14 pound fresh bird from Giant Foods. I bought a jar of Turkey Brining Blend from William-Sonoma.  I’m not really sure what possessed me to do that but I thought I would give it a try.  It was recommended that I use only 1/2 the jar, in lieu of the whole thing, as the recipe on the jar stated, so that’s what I did. Also picked up the ingredients for the stuffing.

Countdown – Day 1 – Wednesday

Started the morning by making the Raw Cranberry Relish.  With that done it was time to take the turkey out of the brine, rinse it off, pat it dry and put in on a rack in the refrigerator. Letting set in there, uncovered, for 24 hours allows the skin to dry which helps to make it brown and crispy.
Later in the day I washed out the turkey roaster and dumped the bread cubes in to dry overnight.

Countdown – Day 0 – Thursday

Todays the day!

Started the morning at about 7:30 with the Crock Pot Dressing.  We’ll see how that goes.  I may have to add to more stock if it seems dry.  Took the turkey of of the refrigerator at 9:00. It will set out until it hits the oven at about 11:00.  There seems to be a number of opinions on just how to roast a turkey.  I believe that I will combine a couple to get the best of all of them.

At 10:30 I stuffed the turkey with an  apple, onions and a celery stalk all cut into large dice along with a couple leaves of sage and parsley.  Trussed it up, put it on a rack breast side down and put it in the oven at 450 degrees for 1 hour.

I also put the giblets & neck in a 2 quart pot with water, about 6 cups, celery, onion, sage, parsley and black peppercorns and brought it to a boil.  Then reduced the heat and simmered for about 1 hour.

The stock is done and the turkey has been flipped.  Reduced the oven temperature to 325 degrees.  Waiting until the internal temperature hits about 155 degrees.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Thanksgiving – 2105 at Calvin Deiterich.

meta

