Sous Vide Pork Shanks

January 23, 2016 § Leave a comment

A couple weeks ago we went to the Pizza Grill and I ordered their pork shanks.  This was the first time that I had eaten pork shanks and they were excellent.  That being said, I decided to give them a try using by Anova Sous Vide.  

I started with four pork shanks, each weighing around 1 pound 4 ounces each.  I decided to try two different concoctions.  The first is with just salt, pepper and rosemary.  This will be for Sunday dinner with sauerkraut and mashed potatoes.  The second batch is a Chinese Char Siu sauce which is a Chinese Barbecue Sauce.  I suspect this will be shredded and pan sautéed to make sandwiches.

  This is the one with rosemary, salt and pepper.

 This is the one with the Char Siu sauce.

  
Everyone is in the pool with a small plate to hold the packages under the water and. the temperate set to 131 and time for 23:55.  It need to cook for 48 hours but the timer in the unit only goes to 23:55.  This went in about noon on Friday 1/22.

It is now Saturday morning, the pork as been in for about 20 hours and the snow is coming down in buckets.  Looks like she got over a foot overnight. I was reading other articles about pork cooking in a sous vide and decided to raising the temperature to 140 degrees. I have found that there are numerous time/temperature combinations I have found for this.   going too high will cause the pork to be dry. Undercooking has it’s own issues.  I will post updates as this process continues.

It is now Sunday morning and, after spending 3 hours shoveling snow, the sound vide cooking is done.  Now I need to cool them until it is time to prepare them for the meals.  This means ice or, in my case, snow since we have an abundance of it right now.  I used the bottom of many clam pot since it has a spigot on it to drain the water.    

After they cooled, I dried the packages off and placed them in the refrigerator.  On Sunday afternoon I removed the shanks done with the Rosemary from their packages.  Had I thought about it prior to opening the plastic bag, I would have heated them slightly to return the jelled juices to a liquid state.  Not doing that I really had no “drippings” to speak of.  I placed them shanks on a foil lined baking try, coved them with foil and placed them in a 350 degree oven to heat through.  This took about 30 minutes.  I them sprayed them with some oil and ran them under the broiler to brown the outside.  

 For my fist attempt at this at least the first shanks turned out very well.  The meat was very moist and flavorful.  I did. purchased the hind shanks which, for one shank per person, was a bit much so we have some leftovers.  

Looks like Thursday I will be making the Chinese BBQ’ed ones so stay tuned.  

Thursday came and went and I forgot to post my progress.  I heated the shanks in bag in a pot of water to allow the sauce to loosen and make the pork easier to work with.  Once I drained the juice from the bag I proceeded to shred the pork and, once shredded I sautéed it a medium pan to crisp up the edges. I then added the drained sauce and heated it through.  

Served on toasted buns it turned out very good. No photos on this as I just forgot to take any.  

I will have to say that the pork in both cases was very moist but not as tender as I would have liked.  As I stated earlier there did not seem to be a consensus as to the temperature to cook these. The next attempt will be at 150.

Overall this was a success! 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sous Vide Pork Shanks at Calvin Deiterich.

meta

